St. Francis-Ill. women, McKendree men victorious at 2019 Midwest Collegiate Championships

TEAM: Men | Women

- The St. Francis-Illinois women and McKendree men showcased their team chemistry during Baker competition Sunday at the Midwest Collegiate Championships to claim the win in their respective divisions at the first Tier 1 event of the 2019-2020 United States Bowling Congress Collegiate season.

A total of 28 women's and 40 men's varsity programs competed over the weekend at Bowlero. All teams bowled six traditional games Saturday and 16 Baker games Sunday, with total pinfall determining the champions in each division.

St. Francis-Illinois began Sunday's round in second place but made its move by posting the highest Baker total in the women's division (3,119) to take the top spot with an 8,928 total. Mount Mercy (8,842) and St. Ambrose (8,840) each improved two spots to finish second and third, respectively, while Robert Morris-Illinois (8,766) and Midland (8,751) rounded out the top five.

McKThe McKendree men followed a similar path to the title after starting the day in third place. The Bearcats averaged 217 on Sunday to coast to the win with a 9,575 total. Savannah College of Art and Design-Savannah took home second place with a 9,467 score.

Notre Dame-Ohio rolled a pair of Baker 300 games Sunday to move into third place with 9,346, one pin ahead of Lindenwood. Calumet finished fifth with 9,303.

The all-tournament teams in each division were determined after Saturday's six-game block.

The top performers in the women's division were Abby Ragsdale of St. Francis-Illinois (1,297); Mattie Brandos of Robert Morris-Illinois (1,269); Rebekah Commane of SCAD-Savannah (1,262); Candice Goldfinch of Midland (1,261); and Caitlyn Johnson of Webber International (1,250).

The men's team featured Trenton Johnston of Hastings (1,388); Cameron Crowe of St. Ambrose (1,353); Cale Rusch of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (1,349); Austin Robison of Trine (1,333); and Dylan Byars of SCAD-Savannah (1,331).

Both rounds of the 2019 Midwest Collegiate Classic were broadcast live at